Sports-related concussions can have serious consequences, but they don't just happen at the pro level. A recent study found that the number of children treated for such injuries has been on the rise in recent years.

Join our chat at 11 a.m. PST (1 p.m. CST, 2 p.m. EST) on Monday, Jan. 24, when we'll talk with Dr. Christopher Giza, a UCLA neurologist who has done extensive research on sports-related concussions. Dr. Giza also runs the Pediatric Traumatic Brain Injury clinic at UCLA.

Can't make the chat? E-mail questions in advance to jeannine.stein@latimes.com.



Photo credits, from left: Courtesy of Dr. Christopher Giza; Richard Hartog / Los Angeles Times