Chat live with champion long-distance swimmer and KCRW radio contributor Diana Nyad on Monday, Feb. 21, at 3 p.m. Pacific time (5 p.m. Central and 6 p.m. Eastern).

Nyad, 61, has broken several world records in swimming (one for circling Manhattan Island) and in 2006 was inducted into the International Women's Sports Hall of Fame. Last year, at age 60, Nyad trained for a swim from Cuba to Florida, but bad weather derailed her plans. She intends to reprise that swim this year.

Nyad is the author of three books and appears weekly on KCRW. She has also worked for decades as a television sports commentator.

Can't make the chat? E-mail questions in advance to jeannine.stein@latimes.com.


FOR THE RECORD:
A previous version said Nyad was a National Public Radio contributor and appeared weekly on NPR. While she was previously a longtime NPR columnist, she is now a weekly contributor to the Santa Monica College public radio station KCRW. —





Photo credit: Julie Milligan