Percival Everett

Percival Everett is one of 38 authors awarded an NEA creative writing fellowship for 2014. (Jay L. Clendenin / Los Angeles Times / July 2, 2009)

Thirty-eight authors will get $25,000 each to support their creative writing in 2014 from the National Endowment for the Arts, it was announced Wednesday. The writers were selected from more than 1,300 applicants.

The California recipients are Chris Feliciano Arnold, Alex Espinoza, Percival Everett, Peter Gadol, Sara Houghteling, Eugene Marten, Daniel Mason, Ottessa Moshfegh and Martin Pousson.

The complete list of recipients is below.

Chris Feliciano Arnold

Jesse Ball

Quan Barry

Clare Beams

Laura Marsh Bell

Andrew Brininstool

Catherine Chung

Marcia Douglas

Patricia Engel

Alex Espinoza

Percival Everett

Kime Coleman Foote

Rebecca Makkai

Peter Gadol

V.V. Ganeshananthan

Goldie Goldblum

Kelle Groom